InSain crisis 

As many of you know Preston is in crisis mode, but is now mostly stabilized. It started when my bf, his son”J”, & I picked Preston up for a spring break getaway. I wanted to take him to a hotel with a pool & just hang out with him for 2-3 days depending on his ability to be there without meltdowns/rages.

The day started okay & we arrived in Holland at a nice hotel with few guests. Perfect. 

We took him swimming & afterwards he wanted chips & salsa. I told him we had to go get chips & salsa at the store but he didn’t want to go. That started the meltdown that ultimately turned into rage. While my bf went into the store to get it, he attacked me & disrobed…(got naked). 

Once we (barely) got him back to the hotel he then perseverated on wanting to go inside the store we had just left. He also wanted Todd to leave. It was ugly. He broke a light, a blind, & put a hole in the wall. He scratched both todd & I. He attempted to break windows in the car, the hotel, and my phone, the register (heater vent or whatever) & he did break his tablet. 

The good news is “J, (Todd’s son) was safe in another hotel room next to ours. I explained to him the situation & Todd continued to check on him. He had never been exposed to such a scenario…. #autismawareness @ it’s finest. 

So from there I called 911 because things were obviously continuing to escalate and I had zero “tricks or tools” left to control the situation. I was helpless & not in control. P was taken by ambulance to the hospital to be sedated. Then released oncesedated & “stable”. I was exhausted, we all were. I decided to take him back to his group home. We drove 3 hours back to Genesee County. 

We slept for about 6 hours when I received a phone call that Preston raged out from the moment he woke up. He was currently handcuffed & being transported via ambulance to the hospital (again). I was also told that Glen Hollow through Spectrum Health Services could not allow Preston back into their group home because of his severity. They are “not equipped or set up to handle such cases”. 

So much going on that I don’t even know how to update y’all. Seriously I don’t. 

The basics: Preston is in a controlled environment. We are safe, first & foremost. The goal at this point is to stay here at the children’s hospital until a bed opens up at one of the following 4 psychiatric units: 

Harbor Oaks

Pine Rest👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼

Stone Crest

I’m hoping pine Rest is not the place because it will not be suitable or appropriate for his needs. 

The waiting list could take an hour more or a month & a half. We don’t know, however he is considered priority because he is in the hospital. 

The goal @ the psychiatric hospital is to do a “med holiday”, basically taking him off of everything & trying new meds. The process has already been started here & it’s not pretty. It’s utterly sad, depleting, & emotionally tolling. 

The psych hospital stay could be 1 day to two months, depending on he reacts to meds, etc. 

Once the meds are figured out, he will go back to where it all started: GREAT LAKES CENTER FOR AUTISM & RESEARCH …. or Great Lakes/ GLCAR. 

FROM THERE, they have a new step down program. In addition once P is 18, I can bring him back to our county!!! 🙂 

So in a nutshell that’s where we are. The first night hotel was $200, last night was $45. 

Tonight, Monday Tuesday & Wednesday will be $90, that’s the contracted/discounted rate through Helen Devos. I’m on the waiting list for the housing at the hospital for $25 a night & the Ronald McDonald house, which is $20 a night recommended donation. I’m praying I get in one of those places because just 4 nights is almost $400! That doesn’t include food …. 

I  glad we just took a vacation, but had I known what was to come, I wouldn’t have gone, but we all deserved the break. J deserved some time with us because due to the same circumstances he got “robbed” from Christmas & New Years too. 😦 

Anyways….. I guess what I need from everyone is good vibes thoughts & co tinted prayers! We appreciate everything & we thank you so much!!❤❤❤

Lisa & Preston ​

2 comments on “InSain crisis 

  1. Sherry says:

    Thank you for the update Sis…….prayers,prayers and more prayers…..love you both to the moon and back….

  2. Mindy says:

    😦 ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

